City of Cork Steampacket Company Archive Descriptive List


City of Cork Steam Packet Co Ltd


Special Series: Cork Steam Packet Company (1836)

Administrative History The Cork Steam Packet Company was set up in February 1836 as a distinct company. There is no clearly documented connection between this company and the St George Steam Packet Company (1821-43) or its successor the Cork Steam Ship Company (1843-71). This company is not mentioned in Kennedy's History of Steam Navigation, or in Ms Smyth's history of the B&I Line and related companies [see p4 ‘Administrative History’] . However, both works name the first five directors of the Cork Steam Ship Company as follows: John Gould, James Connell, Joseph Hayes, William Lane, and Joseph Leycester. The first two named also occur in the list of directors of the 1836 company [see below]. It may be that the 1836 company failed, and some of its investors later became involved in the 1843 company; or, it may be that the 1836 company came to be absorbed into the later company. Archival History The present articles were acquired as part of records transferred by P&O Ferries, the successor of Coast Lines Ltd. Given the presence of other early Cork and Irish ferry company material in this accession, a connection between the 1836 and 1843 companies may be inferred. For this reason, it has been decided to place this item in collection U370, but to place it on its own at the end of the main collection, in a special single-item series.




3 Feb 1836


Cork Steam Packet Company, Articles of Agreement and Copartnership

Level: series Extent: 1 vol (14 sheets) Scope and Content: Bound volume, articles of agreement and cooperation between members of the Cork Steam Packet Company, signed on 3 February 1836. The articles are signed by 222 subscribing members [shareholders]. The company is formed 'for the purpose of trading goods, merchandize and passengers between the Port of Cork and such other port or ports' as the directors shall appoint. The capital stock is £100,000 Sterling 'to be used and applied in the purchase of one or more steam vessels and for all other purposes... considered advantageous for the said Company'. Twenty-one directors were appointed: Thomas Somerville Reeves, Samuel Lane, Charles Sugrue, James Daly, Daniel Murphy Jr, Michael Roberts, George Whately, John Gould, John Carmichael, Samuel Keays, James Connell, Maurice Lane, Andrew Spearing, Henry Bell, Randall Howe, Robert Carr, John Power, John Bennett, Robert Lane, Joseph King Cummins, and Joshua Hargrave. Articles prepared by A&J Lane, Solicitors. Described on cover as ‘Deed of Constitution’.

©Cork City and County Archives 2014

Page 138 of 143

Powered by