Cork: Merchant City Online Exhibition

Brewing & Distilling > Cork: Merchant Princes > Cork City & County Archives

distilleries were established in the county at Riverstown (John Lyons & Company), Bandon (Allman’s) and two in Midleton (Hackett’s and Murphy’s). The industry was under pressure from the mid-19th century from a combination of the 1830s temperance movement, population decline from the 1840s (as a result of the Great Famine 1845-1850) and a move away from spirits and towards beer. The result was that by the 1860s, Millfield, St. Dominick’s and Dodge’s Glen distilleries in the city had closed, as had the county concerns at Riverstown and Hackett’s in Midleton. The remaining city distilleries (Watercourse, John Street, North Mall and the Green) and Murphy’s Midleton distillery amalgamated in 1867 to form Cork Distilleries Company (CDC). This merger allowed the new company to rationalise production in the different properties. A new distillery was established at the Glen, Kilnap in the 1880s which produced whiskey until the 1920s. Cork companies continued to concentrate on whiskey produced by pot stills, instead of the newer and more efficient patent stills. The result was that by the late 19th century, Cork distilleries were losing their share of the market and by the 1930s Cork Distilleries Company was the only remaining distillery in the county. It increasingly concentrated its production at its Midleton plant and in 1966 became part of Irish Distillers Limited along with two Dublin distilleries, John Jameson & Son and John Power & Son. In 1975 a new distillery was built in Midleton adjacent to the original site and whiskey continues to produced there.

Cork Distilleries Company, Balance Book, 1902 .

Whiskey bottle, 1914.

home ¦ Merchant Princes ¦ Brewing & Distilling ¦ Shipping ¦ Workers ¦ Provisions Trade ¦ Retail Heritage ¦ Sources ¦ Gallery ¦ Gaeilge ¦ About Cork ¦ Sitemap ¦ Merchant City Online Exhibition ¦ Accessibility ¦ Contact Us ¦ Search ¦[12/04/2021 13:48:18]

Powered by